Schengen Treaty is 35 years old

On June 14, the European Union celebrated 35 years since the signing of the Schengen Treaty.

The treaty led to the abolishing of national boarders of most European Union Member States, leading to what is now known as the “Schengen Area”. Initially signed by only five European Member States, the agreement is nowadays one of the world’s biggest areas that have ended border controls between member countries.

EU Commission President, Ursula von der Leyen said that she is looking forward to borders re-opening following restrictions which were imposed by the coronavirus pandemic.

« Back